Esperanza High School announces their 2019 National Merit Scholars

Esperanza High School's 2019 National Merit Scholar recipients.Esperanza High School's 2019 National Merit Scholar recipients.

Esperanza High School is proud to announce that nine seniors have received National Merit Recognition. Brian Nguyen has earned the prestigious title of National Merit Semifinalist, while Evan Borts, Alexander Ellington, Cassidy GIbson, Victoria Taberski, and Kaylin Williby have been named National Merit Commended Scholars. Alexis Contreras, Jacob Newbill, Sadie Pool, and Victoria Taberski have earned the National Merit Hispanic Recognition Award.

Each year, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) names 16,000 Semifinalists nationwide representing the top half percent of the 1.6 million program entrants who take the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualify Test (PSAT/NMSQT). Representing less than one percent of each state’s high school seniors, National Merit Semifinalists are the highest-scoring program entrants. Commended Students placed in the top five percent.

National Hispanic Recognition Program recognizes the top 2.5% among Hispanic and Latino PSAT/NMSQT test takers in the nation. In addition to a qualifying PSAT score, students must earn a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher by the middle of their junior year.

Congratulations to these outstanding scholars from the Aztec Class of 2020!

Be the first to comment on "Esperanza High School announces their 2019 National Merit Scholars"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.