Four El Dorado students named National Merit Commended Students

El Dorado High School Principal Joey Davis announced that Noah Dickinson, Griffin Finnell, Troy Goudzwaard and Sarah Kim have been named Commended Students in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program. A letter of commendation from both the school and the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be presented by Mr. Davis to these scholastically talented seniors.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2017 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2017 competition by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualify Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Pictured (L-R): Sarah Kim, Griffin Finnell, Troy Goudzwaard and Noah Dickinson.

Be the first to comment on "Four El Dorado students named National Merit Commended Students"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.